belated tune: Poliça, “Wandering Star”

Download (right click, “save as”): Poliça, “Wandering Star” 
http://download.publicradio.org/podcast/minnesota/the_current/song_of_the_day/2011/12/06/20111206_polica_wandering_star_128.mp3?_kip_ipx=742354983-1323270453

As we’re looking back at 2011 and hastily assembling our best-of lists (because surely you haven’t seen enough best-of lists yet this December), we’re also peeking forward at one of the most intriguing projects of 2012: Poliça.

Having been so inspired and bewildered by the idea of Gayngs, one of my favorite acts of 2010, as a flash-in-the-pan ordeal, the sounds of Poliça have been quite comforting. Ryan Olson, masterminding producer of Gayngs, leads this four-member, Gayngs-expatriating suite. Lead vocalist Channy Cassell–whose vocal role on Relayted was mostly complementary, if not memorable (she drove the poppy “Faded High”)–channels image-heavy, layered, auto-tuned lines, filling up each track wonderfully. “Wandering Star” is no exception.

In “Wander Star”, a remarkable bass line seems almost to ponder and reminisce in sync with Cassell; echoes of  lines like “And now the world turns without me” bounce everywhere–off the percussion, the alien Gayngs-y keyboard, the mourning synth. Essentially, it’s the sensation of a memory overlapping itself, the product of the powerful and uneventful.

Below, scope and download more astronomocentrically-titled Poliça. And after the jump, see the freshly-posted lyrics for “Wandering Star”:

Poliça, “Dark Star”

Lyrics: Poliça, “Wandering Star”

when the day is done
and i lay me down
i sit alone in my lonely bed
and i think about the day we had
and it makes me sad cuz your gone
when the day is done
and i lay me down
the sheets are cold
and your space is dark
and i hear you whisper something sweet
but it doesn’t move any nerves in me

after all, i’m married to the wandering star
and i’ve kissed the moon
it was full when i fell in love with thee
but now the world turns without me
turns without me

when the day is done
and i lay me down
the sheets are cold
and your space is dark
and i hear you whisper something sweet
but it doesn’t move any nerves in me

after all, i’m married to the wandering star
and i’ve kissed the moon
it was full when i fell in love with thee
but now the world turns without me

Lyrics to the rest of the album can be found here.

__________

Related: “I Want Your Body on Me: The Tale of Superlative Supergroup Gayngs”